My Dad and His Camera, by Federico Vasquez

IMG_NEW_0001

Me in 1961

One of the earliest memories I have of my father was him getting close to me with a black box in front of his face…yes, you guessed it…a camera!  I don’t know what brand it was because for many years I was not allowed to get close to it.  At that time all the cameras had film and you had to use a flash bulb and, of course, had to take them to be developed.  Little by little a deep drawer in the house was filling up with photographs. Those photographs are my family memories.

I began taking pictures using different point and shoot cameras in my teenage years. At that time i had no idea what the words aperture, ISO, or shutter speed meant. Needless to say most of those shots were horrible, however, thanks to my painting and drawing classes the compositions were good. This, somehow, augmented  my work as a photographer. Today, I see the photos of my dad and I admire his achievements capturing those exceptional images without a DSLR camera. I don’t know if today photography is easier or cheaper. What I do know is that my father would enjoy taking thousands of pictures without worrying much about the cost of development and exploring the alternatives on hand image editing.

Grandmother Juana chatting with my uncle Jani on a family picnic in nearby mountains of Caracas, Venezuela. Circa 1968

Grandmother Juana chatting with my uncle Jani on a family picnic in nearby mountains of Caracas, Venezuela. Circa 1968

I am still learning everyday there are new advances and new equipment and software. I hope that my father, wherever he is feels proud that I have followed in his steps putting that little black box in front of my face an, like him, try to capture the world around me and create new memories.

Mom, Dad and me. My father set up the camera and had someone else fire the shutter. circa 1964 in Cumana, Venezuela

Mom, Dad and me. My father set up the camera and had someone else fire the shutter. circa 1964 in Cumana, Venezuela

Leave a Reply

